HomeAbout UsOur History

Our history

In 2001, the SADC Protocol on Fisheries kick-started the joint effort to curb IUU fishing in the SADC region. In 2017, the MCSCC Charter was approved. It lays the groundwork for the MCSCC to be established once it has been ratified by at least eleven member states. In the meantime, the Interim Project Management Unit (IPMU) was established to assume initial responsibilities until the MCSCC Centre is operational. Below are the milestones that led to the establishment of the MCSCC.

  • 2001
    • SADC Protocol on Fisheries

      The Protocol lays the framework for the sustainable use of aquatic resources and ecosystems and the management of shared fisheries resources between member states

  • 2005
    • Declaration on Sustainable Fisheries and Aquaculture in Africa (NEPAD)

      African governments adopt the declaration to support regional cooperation in fisheries and aquaculture

  • 2008
    • SADC Statement of Commitment to tackle IUU fishing

      SADC states sign a statement of commitment to halt IUU fishing and establish an SADC Regional Monitoring, Control and Surveillance Coordination Centre

  • 2010
    • First Conference of the African Ministers of Fisheries and Aquaculture (CAMFA 1)

      Participants acknowledge that single-state solutions to combating IUU fishing has not been very effective and recommend regional cooperation for tackling IUU fishing

    • SADC IUU Action Plan approved by member States

      Member states agree on an action plan which includes the creation of a regional MCS Centre and establishes Mozambique as the host country

  • 2017
    • MCSCC Charter approved

      SADC Council of Ministers approves Charter to establish the SADC Regional Fisheries Monitoring Control and Surveillance Coordination Centre (MCSCC)

    • MCSCC Charter – first six signatures

      Eswatini, Lesotho, Mozambique, South Africa, United Republic of Tanzania, Zambia sign the Charter

    • IPMU established

      SADC fisheries ministers approve establishment of Interim Project Management Unit (IPMU) and the Regional Technical Team (RTT) following establishment of the MCSCC

  • 2019
    • Staff assigned to IPMU

    • Angola & Namibia sign Charter

    • Construction of MCSCC Building

      SADC ministers approve project to construct MCSCC building. Funds and land in Ka-Tembe (Maputo) secured by the Government of Mozambique

  • 2021
    • Malawi signs Charter

  • 2022
    • Madagascar signs Charter

  • 2023
    • Botswana signs Charter

    • MCSCC Charter enters into force